True Grit – ‘Lucky’ Ned Pepper

Hi everyone, carrying on with upgrading my cowboy collection is my True Grit Barry Pepper’s ‘Lucky’ Ned Pepper. The project went way back, just before DML and DID came out with their Barry Pepper headsculpts and I commissioned Peter Miles (Peter the Painter) for this headsculpt. I wasn’t happy with the finish of my last paint job done a decade ago, where I at the last minute overzealously overdone his tanned skintone so much that all highlights were lost. So taking a deep breath, here goes nothing! ☺️ Hope you like this.

‘Lucky’ Ned Pepper

Actor Barry Pepper as ‘Lucky’ Ned Pepper. I just love cowboy characters like Ned, the way they’re dressed, the moustache and goatee, and the rimmed hat. There’s just that feeling of authenticity about them.

The figure, previously

Old headsculpt paintjob: The Ned Pepper headsculpt obviously needs a repaint, being overzealously given a tint of burnt seina. I’m very unhappy with the overall tonality, so after more than a decade, I’ve decided to have a go at it. Wish me luck as I feel it’s not as easy as it seems.

‘Lucky’ Ned Pepper, a rugged outlaw with scars and a snaggled appearance, made his entrance only in the final third of the Coen brothers’ 2010 remake of True Grit. Barry Pepper portrayed the small but memorable role of this murderous outlaw with a thief’s honor, adding more depth to his character compared to his gang members.

However, it was the distinctive attire – Alpaca wooly chaps, a turned-up hat brim, and a snarly scarf – that evoked the image of one of Frederick Remington’s bronze sculptures coming to life and stepping onto the set.